ECOG-ACRIN Recognizes 22 Member Networks and Programs for Outstanding Research Performance

Christine Lovly, MD, PhD headshot
ECOG-ACRIN Names Vanderbilt University’s Christine Lovly as Its 2021 Young Investigator of the Year
May 28, 2021
Doctor and patient reviewing test results
Now Enrolling: EA2192/APOLLO for Pancreatic Cancer
May 28, 2021

ECOG-ACRIN Recognizes 22 Member Networks and Programs for Outstanding Research Performance

Evaluation Form

Each year, the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) conducts an Institution Evaluation in which a subset of Principal Investigator (PI) Committee members and senior administrators meet to evaluate the performance of ECOG-ACRIN member networks and programs. The extraordinary staff in the Membership Department facilitates the process—encompassing nearly 1500 individual research institutions in total, comprising 138 research programs.* Through this annual review, principal investigators and research personnel stay informed about the many scientific and administrative components that comprise ECOG-ACRIN's expectations for retaining membership in the Group. The evaluation ensures that member institutions maintain ECOG-ACRIN’s high standards to conduct cancer research with and through the Group.

Data from the previous calendar year is evaluated; 2019 in this case. The following areas were reviewed: accrual, clinical data quality and timeliness, compliance with requirements for submission of laboratory samples and images; scientific leadership, administrative contribution, and compliance with policies of both ECOG-ACRIN and the National Cancer Institute through its National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) audit process. The review committee is blinded to the identity of the institutions during this initial evaluation when they give a numerical rating to these categories. However, final unblinded evaluations are based on both the objective data and discussions on the unique aspects of each institution that cannot be captured in a numerical rating. The review committee voted to commend the following networks and programs for outstanding performance in 2019. Group Co-Chairs Peter O'Dwyer, MD, and Mitchell Schnall, MD, PhD, recognized these sites during the General Session of the 2021 Spring Group Meeting in April.

Members Recognized in 2020 for Outstanding Performance

Institution Principal Investigator
Carle Cancer Center NCORP Kendrith M. Rowland, MD
CERIM (Argentina) Daniel E. Lehrer, MD
Delaware/Christiana Care NCORP Gregory A. Masters, MD
Duke University/Duke Cancer Institute Daniel P. Barboriak, MD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Evan Ya-Wen Yu, MD
Georgia NCORP Howard A. Zaren, MD, FACS
Gulf South Minority Underserved NCORP Augusto C. Ochoa, MD
Indiana University/Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center Kathy D. Miller, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin Timothy S. Fenske, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Christopher E. Comstock, MD
Metro Minnesota Community Oncology Research Consortium David M. King, MD
University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center Jan Cerny, MD
University of Michigan/UM Comprehensive Cancer Center Ruth C. Carlos, MD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill/Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Lisa A. Carey, MD
University of Pennsylvania/Penn Medicine Abramson Cancer Center Jennifer R. Eads, MD
University of Wisconsin/UW Carbone Cancer Center Anne M. Traynor, MD
The University of Texas/MD Anderson Cancer Center PI in transition
The University of Texas Southwestern/Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center David E. Gerber, MD
Vanderbilt University/Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center Jordan D. Berlin, MD
Washington University at St. Louis/Siteman Cancer Center Barry A. Siegel, MD
Wisconsin NCORP Kurt R. Oettel, MD
Yale University/Yale Cancer Center Barbara A. Burtness, MD

*Member institution networks are both academic-based cancer centers and their affiliates and community-based programs in the NCI Community Oncology Research Program (NCORPs). The annual Institution Evaluation reviews nearly 1500 research sites in total, comprising 138 research programs. The sites include the Main Member institutions plus all of their Affiliates and Sub-Affiliates, both voting and non-voting on the PI Committee. Visit to learn more about ECOG-ACRIN’s flexible Membership Program and obtain details in the Group constitution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *