36 Member Networks and Programs Receive Commendations in 2022 for Outstanding Research Performance

Nurse at computer
Aurora NCORP Pilots Natural Language Processing Tool to Find Patients with Pancreatic Cysts for EA2185
December 20, 2022
Two doctors at podium
A General Session to Remember: NCI Director Monica Bertagnolli Delivers First Public Speech, ECOG-ACRIN Honors Two Esteemed Colleagues
December 20, 2022

36 Member Networks and Programs Receive Commendations in 2022 for Outstanding Research Performance

Evaluation Form

Each year, the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group (ECOG-ACRIN) conducts an Institution Evaluation in which a subset of Principal Investigator (PI) Committee members and senior administrators meet to evaluate the performance of ECOG-ACRIN member networks and programs. The exceptional staff in the Membership Department facilitates the process—encompassing nearly 1500 individual research institutions in total, comprising 140 research programs. Through this annual review, principal investigators and research personnel stay informed about the many scientific and administrative components that comprise ECOG-ACRIN's expectations for retaining membership in the Group. In addition, the evaluation ensures that member institutions maintain ECOG-ACRIN's high standards to conduct cancer research with and through the Group.

Data from the previous calendar year (2021) was evaluated. The following areas are part of the review: accrual, clinical data quality and timeliness, compliance with requirements for submission of laboratory samples and images; scientific leadership, administrative contribution, and compliance with policies of both ECOG-ACRIN and the National Cancer Institute through its National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN) audit process. The review committee is blinded to the identity of the institutions during this initial evaluation when they give a numerical rating to these categories. However, final unblinded assessments are based on both the objective data and discussions on the unique aspects of each institution that cannot be captured in a numerical rating.

For 2022, the review committee voted to commend the following 36 networks and programs for outstanding performance. Group Co-Chairs Peter O'Dwyer, MD, and Mitchell Schnall, MD, PhD, recognized these sites during the General Session of the Fall 2022 Group Meeting.

Members Recognized in 2022 for Outstanding Performance

Institution Principal Investigator
Aultman Health Foundation Sunitha Vemulapalli, MD
Aurora NCORP Thomas J. Saphner, MD
Carle Cancer Center NCORP Kendrith M. Rowland, MD
Case Western Reserve University/Case Comprehensive Cancer Center* Paolo Caimi, MD
CERIM (Argentina) Daniel E. Lehrer, MD
Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center Frank S. Hodi, MD
Duke University/Duke Cancer Institute Daniel P. Barboriak, MD
Emory University/Winship Cancer Institute * Charles A. Staley, III, MD
Essentia Health NCORP ** Bret B. Friday, MD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Evan Ya-Wen Yu, MD
Georgia NCORP * Howard A. Zaren, MD
Gulf South Minority Underserved NCORP * Augusto C. Ochoa, MD
Heartland Cancer Research NCORP * Bryan Faller, MD
Johns Hopkins University/The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center Julie R. Brahmer, MD
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center Thomas M. Habermann, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin Timothy S. Fenske, MD, MS
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Christopher E. Comstock, MD
Metro Minnesota Community Oncology Research Consortium David M. King, MD
Michigan Cancer Research Consortium NCORP * Tareq Al bagdadi, MD
Moffitt Cancer Center * Jhanelle E. Gray, MD
Northwestern University/Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center * Al B. Benson, III, MD
Pacific Cancer Research Consortium NCORP * Charles W. Drescher, MD
Puerto Rico Minority Underserved NCORP ** Luis Baez-Diaz, MD
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey Howard S. Hochster, MD
Stanford University/Stanford Cancer Institute Melinda L. Telli, MD
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center/James Cancer Hospital and Solove Research Institute James W. Rocco, MD, PhD
The University of Texas/MD Anderson Cancer Center PI in transition
The University of Texas Southwestern/Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center * David E. Gerber, MD
University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Center Jan Cerny, MD, PhD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill/Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center * Lisa A. Carey, MD
University of Pennsylvania/Penn Medicine Abramson Cancer Center Jennifer R. Eads, MD
University of Wisconsin/UW Carbone Cancer Center Anne M. Traynor, MD
Upstate Carolina NCORP James Bearden III, MD
Vanderbilt University/Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center Jordan D. Berlin, MD
Wisconsin NCORP Kurt R. Oettel, MD
Yale University/Yale Cancer Center Barbara A. Burtness, MD

* Commended for Accrual
** Commended for Clinical Data Quality and Timeliness

Visit ecog-acrin.org to learn more about ECOG-ACRIN's flexible Membership Program and obtain details in the Group constitution

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *